Participate

Actually, you are always welcome to drop by, but we don’t have regular opening hours except for Monday evening. Many active members have a key themselves. If the space is just open or events are announced, every person is always welcome. Feel free to ask in the chat, when someone is at xHain.

Events

Check out our calendar for upcoming events.

Many of our events are open community events that are held at our place. You can also rent xHain as a meeting venue or space for (closed) events. If you’re planning a workshop, looking for a more unconventional meeting space, want to screen your film or advance your fan fiction in a creative environment, ask us and we’ll work out the details together.

Machines and equipment

For your projects there are the following work areas and equipment:

  • 3D Lab with various 3D printers.
  • Audio-video equipment with cameras, microphones, mixers and setup for streaming to the Internet.
  • Electronics with soldering stations and reflow oven.
  • Hobelhöhle with equipment and tools for woodworking and welding.
  • Machine room with laser cutter, plotter, laser microscope.
  • Textiles with sewing machines, overlock and embroidery machine.
  • Tools of all kinds are available in the respective work areas.

The work areas and their tools are marked in color. Some devices require a safety briefing by an authorized person. In our wiki you will find a more detailed overview of our work areas and devices.

Organisation

xHain was founded by Felix Just in May 2016 and is recognized as a non-profit corporation since 2020. xHain sees itself as a do-ocracy and thrives from the commitment and ideas of the members. This means that members independently select and execute their projects.

Mitmachen

Eigentlich darf man gerne immer vorbeischauen, allerdings haben wir bis auf Montag Abend keine regulären Öffnungszeiten. Viele aktive Member haben selbst einen Schlüssel. Sofern offen ist, oder Veranstaltungen angekündigt sind, ist jederzeit jede Person willkommen. Fragt auch gerne im Chat, wann jemand im xHain ist.

Veranstaltungen

Informiere dich in unserem Kalender über anstehende Veranstaltungen.

Viele unserer Veranstaltungen sind offene Community-Events, die bei uns untergekommen sind. Außerdem kann man den xHain auch als Tagungsort oder Raum für (geschlossene) Veranstaltungen mieten. Wenn ihr einen Workshop plant, einen unkonventionelleren Sitzungsort sucht, euren Film vorführen oder in kreativer Umgebung eure Fan-Fiction voran bringen wollt, dann fragt uns, und wir klären gemeinsam die Details.

Maschinen- und Gerätenutzung

Für eure Projekte gib es die folgenden Arbeitsbereiche und Ausstattung:

  • 3D-Lab mit verschiedensten 3D-Druckern.
  • Audio-Video-Equipment mit Kameras, Mikrofonen, Mischpulten und Setup zum Streaming in das Internet.
  • Elektronik mit Lötstationen und Reflow-Ofen.
  • Hobelhöhle mit Geräten und Werkzeugen zur Holzarbeit und Schweißen.
  • Maschienenraum mit Lasercutter, Plotter, Lasermikroskop.
  • Textiles mit Nähmaschinen, Overlock und Stickmaschine.
  • Werkzeuge aller Art gibt es in den jeweiligen Arbeitsbereichen.

Die Arbeitsbereiche und deren Werkeuge sind farblich markiert. Manche Geräte erfordern eine Sicherheitseinweisung durch eine authorisierte Person. Im Wiki findet ihr einen genaueren Überblick über unsere Arbeitsbereiche und Geräte.

Organisatorisches

Der xHain wurde von Felix Just im Mai 2016 gegründet und ist seit 2020 als gemeinnützige UG anerkannt. Der xHain versteht sich als Do-ocracy und lebt vom Engagement und den Ideen der Member. Das heißt, dass Member selbständig ihre Projekte aussuchen und ausführen.